Are all Australian lawyers required to complete their CPD?

The answer is yes. All Australian lawyers must complete a minimum of 10 hours - or 10 points - of continuing professional development (CPD) each year in order to maintain their practising certificate. 

Within these 10 CPD points, lawyers are required to complete at least one point every year in the following compulsory areas to fulfil their annual CPD requirements:  

  • Core area 1 — Ethics;
  • Core area 2 — Practice management;
  • Core area 3 — Professional skills; and
  • Core area 4 — Substantive law.

The rules and the CPD requirements vary depending on the jurisdiction where you practise, so it's essential to be familiar with the specific rules that apply in your state or territory

Continuing professional development has significant benefits for both individual lawyers and the profession. By investing in continuing professional development, lawyers gain valuable skills and knowledge to keep up-to-date with changes in the law and practice. Engaging intentionally in CPD also demonstrates that lawyers as a profession are holding themselves to high standards, which in turn builds trust with the broader community. 

Check out our guide to learn more about the CPD requirements in your jurisdiction.


Didn't find what you're looking for?

> Discover our help portal or contact us